Web Residency

Data examples from the collection

Project Call

How does data become information that we can read? What role do aesthetics play in the politics of viewership? How can papyrus scrolls, musical scores, historical postcards and other treasures buried in the ONB Labs archives be explored artistically and in a way that is meaningful to our contemporary moment of unrest?

ONB Labs is pleased to announce our web residency programme, inviting artists to address these questions. Artists from all levels of experience, who are interested in mining the ONB Lab’s historical archives, are encouraged to apply to this four-week web residency. This opportunity aims to engage critically and creatively with data sets from the ONB Labs, culminating in a browser-based work that will be exhibited online.

Artistic approaches of all formats, whether they might be digital, physical, sculptural, poetic or conceptual are encouraged; the only requirements are that the final result needs to be exhibited online and engaged with the ONB Labs collections. For more information about the available data see: https://labs.onb.ac.at/en/datasets/

Web Residency Outline

Submit your application as PDF including:

  • short bio/art collective description (up to 500 words)
  • short portfolio with up to 10 pages (images, text, links)
  • short project outline (up to 500 words, incl. images)

Selected projects will be supported with a production budget of 500€.

Two projects will be selected; individuals or collectives can apply, but the production budget will remain the same.

Timeline:

  • Deadline for submissions is March 7th 2021, 12:00am (midnight) CET (entry deadline/arrival time)
  • Selected candidates will be informed by: March 12th 2021
  • Web residency period: 4 weeks starting from April 12th 2021

Application

The selection process will be done by the ONB Labs team in cooperation with artist and educator Seth Weiner, who is currently the Artistic Director of the Palais des Beaux Arts Wien and has taught at Kunst Universität Linz, Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, Academy of Applied Arts Vienna and Webster University Vienna among others.

The selected artists will have the opportunity for two dedicated work sessions with Seth Weiner to discuss their work. They will further receive technical support from the ONB Labs technical staff. The virtual exhibition platform will be co-developed by ONB Labs and tailored to the needs of the selected projects.

A working level of German is not a requirement for the application. The work sessions with Seth Weiner will be held in English. Applications can be submitted in either English or German.

Applications can be exclusively submitted via email to labs@onb.ac.at (subject: "Web Residency 2021"). Please send application files in a single zipped archive with a maximum size of 10 MB. For archives larger than 10 MB provide a WeTransfer link to your application data within the email.

See also terms and conditions for this application.

ONB Labs is dedicated to experimentation and making its collections accessible for creative use. For previous examples of experiments working with the ONB Labs data see: https://labs.onb.ac.at/. The web residency programme is part of the international research project "Open Digital Libraries for Creative Use (ODL)", in collaboration with the national libraries of the Netherlands and Estonia. ODL is co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union.

Logo European Union

Logo Open Digital Libraries

Web-Residenz

Auswahl aus den Datensets

Projektausschreibung

Wie können wir aus Daten Information ablesen? Welche Rolle spielt die Ästhetik im Hinblick auf die Darstellung von Inhalten? Wie können Papyrusrollen, Musikhandschriften, historische Postkarten und weitere Schätze aus den Archiven der ÖNB Labs auf eine künstlerische Art und Weise erforscht werden, so dass dies Bedeutung hat in einem Moment zeitgenössischer Unruhe?

Wir freuen uns hiermit, das Web-Residenz-Programm der ÖNB Labs anzukündigen. Künstler*innen jedes Erfahrungsgrades, die ein Interesse daran haben die historischen Archive der ÖNB Labs zu durchforsten, sind dazu eingeladen sich für diese vierwöchige Web-Residenz zu bewerben. Ziel ist die kritische und kreative Auseinandersetzung mit den Datensätzen der ÖNB Labs, die in einer für den Webbrowser geeigneten Arbeit mündet, welche im Anschluss online ausgestellt wird.

Künstlerische Zugänge jeglicher Art, ob digital, physisch, skulptural, poetisch oder konzeptbasiert sind willkommen. Erforderlich ist lediglich, dass das Werk online ausgestellt werden kann und sich mit den Daten der ÖNB Labs befasst. Weitere Informationen zu den verfügbaren Datensets finden Sie unter: https://labs.onb.ac.at/de/datasets/

Details zur Web-Residenz

Bewerbungen als PDF mit folgenden Unterlagen:

  • Biographie oder Beschreibung des Künstler*innenkollektivs (bis zu 500 Wörter)
  • Portfolio mit bis zu 10 Seiten (Bilder, Text, Links)
  • Projektbeschreibung (bis zu 500 Wörter, inkl. Bildern)

Für die Umsetzung der ausgewählten Projektideen gibt es ein Honorar von €500.

Aus den Einreichungen werden zwei Projekte ausgewählt; Einzelbewerbungen oder Bewerbungen als Künstlerkollektiv sind möglich; das Projektbudget bleibt jedoch im Falle von Kollektiven gleich.

Ablauf:

  • Bewerbungsfrist ist der 7. März 2021, 24:00 Uhr CET (Einsendeschluss/Einlangen)
  • Die erfolgreichen Bewerber*innen werden bis 12. März 2021 benachrichtigt
  • Laufzeit der Web-Residenz: 4 Wochen ab dem 12. April 2021

Bewerbung

Die Auswahl der geförderten Projekte erfolgt durch das Team der ÖNB Labs in Kooperation mit dem Künstler und Lehrenden Seth Weiner, der aktuell als künstlerischer Direktor am Palais des Beaux Arts in Wien tätig ist und unter anderem an der Kunstuniversität Linz, der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien, der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien und der Webster Universität Wien unterrichtet hat beziehungsweise unterrichtet.

Die ausgewählten Künstler*innen haben die Möglichkeit, ihre Arbeit mit Seth Weiner innerhalb von zwei individuellen Besprechungen weiterzuentwickeln. Außerdem werden sie vom Team der ÖNB Labs bei technischen Fragestellungen unterstützt. Die virtuelle Ausstellungsplattform wird von ÖNB Labs in Abstimmung auf die ausgewählten Arbeiten entwickelt und den Projekten angepasst.

Deutschkenntnisse sind für die Einreichung nicht erforderlich. Die Besprechungen mit Seth Weiner werden in englischer Sprache abgehalten. Bewerbungen können sowohl Deutsch als auch Englisch eingereicht werden.

Bewerbungen werden ausschließlich über E-Mail an labs@onb.ac.at (Betreff: "Web Residency 2021") angenommen. Bitte übermitteln Sie Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen in einem einzigen ZIP-Archiv mit einer Maximalgröße von 10 MB. Für größere Archive stellen Sie bitte in Ihrer E-Mail einen Link zu den Daten auf WeTransfer bereit.

Bitte beachten Sie die Teilnahme- und Nutzungsbedingungen!

Die ÖNB Labs sind bestrebt, das Experimentieren mit digitalen Daten zu fördern und die Kollektionen für den kreativen Gebrauch zu öffnen. Weitere Beispiele für Projekte, die mit den Daten der ÖNB Labs umgesetzt wurden, sind unter labs.onb.ac.at zu finden. Die Web-Residenz ist Teil des internationalen Forschungsprojekts "Open Digital Libraries for Creative Use (ODL)" in Kooperation mit den Nationalbibliotheken der Niederlande und Estlands. ODL wird kofinanziert durch das Programm Kreatives Europa der Europäischen Union.

Logo European Union