Web Residency 2021

From the 12th of April until the 9th of May the ONB Labs launched a Web Residency for creative engagement with their digital datasets. We are honoured to now present the awarded work of Rosemary Lee in the frame of a virtual artspace.

How does data become information that we can read? What role do aesthetics play in the politics of viewership? How can papyrus scrolls, musical scores, historical postcards and other treasures buried in the ONB Labs archives be explored artistically and in a way that is meaningful to our contemporary moment of unrest?

Open Digital Libraries

By raising these provocative questions the ONB Labs invited artists to critically engage with and creatively re-use the ONB Labs digital datasets. As datasets we offer collections such as digitized historical postcards, papyri, historical newspapers, pamphlets of the 1848 revolution, music manuscripts, documents in Esperanto, as well as metadata information. The Web Residency was developed for the international project Open Digital Libraries, a cooperation between the National Library of the Netherlands, the National Library of Estonia and the Austrian National Library. The project is co-funded by the Creative Europe program. General aim of the project is to foster creative engagement with digital library holdings in new ways and new formats. Due to the current restrictions caused by the COVID 19 pandemic, we decided on a virtual format instead of physical exchange. We adopted the format of a Web Residency by announcing an award and reached out internationally for artists to hand in project outlines. The range of questions, methods and selection of data was unrestricted. The number of applications and their variety proved the spectrum of possible approaches to our digital datasets. In cooperation with the artist and educator Seth Weiner we chose the contribution of Rosemary Lee for the award. We are honoured to present her outstanding work!

Cryptographics

Rosemary Lee's work relates the recent phenomenon of Cryptoart to a selection from the ONB Labs collection of digitized postcards. She reduced the digitized postcards to their shapes by extracting the image coordinates from the available metadata. She then combined a variation of static and moving shapes with text fragments from the internet relating to the concept of Cryptoart. To learn more about the artwork from the artist's point of view see the accompanying description to the artwork in the Artspace.

Artspace

Within the frame of the Web Residency, the ONB Labs Artspace was developed, an online platform for the presentation of the work created in the course of the Web Residency. It is also intended to function as a virtual exhibition space for future projects at the ONB Labs. The conception and development of the Artspace took place in close cooperation with the artist and curator of the web residency. Its intention is to allow for an immersive experience of the art works. They should be given as much space as possible and the attention of the visitors should be distracted as little as possible by navigation elements. The Artspace is therefore marked purely by a narrow frame and the navigation has been restricted to a subtle point. Both elements, point and frame, react in their appearance to the content. The flexible area of the Artspace will be developed further for future projects and might change in its design for different contributions. As a space for artistic experiments with the digital holdings of the ONB Labs, it will be open to all users.

Contribute

Curious? Do you want to engage with our collections and contribute to our virtual artspace or our topics? Feel free to contact us at labs@onb.ac.at.

ONB Labs is dedicated to experimentation and making its collections accessible for creative use. For previous examples of experiments working with the ONB Labs data see: https://labs.onb.ac.at/. The web residency programme is part of the international research project "Open Digital Libraries for Creative Use (ODL)", in collaboration with the national libraries of the Netherlands and Estonia. ODL is co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union.

Logo European Union

Logo Open Digital Libraries

Web-Residenz 2021

Von 12. April bis 09. Mai 2021 veranstalteten die ÖNB Labs eine Web-Residenz zur kreativen Nutzung ihrer digitalen Bestände. Das Ergebnis der ausgezeichneten Residentin, Rosemary Lee, wird nun im Rahmen eines virtuellen Artspace präsentiert.

Wie können wir aus Daten Information ablesen? Welche Rolle spielt die Ästhetik im Hinblick auf die Darstellung von Inhalten? Wie können Papyrusrollen, Musikhandschriften, historische Postkarten und weitere Schätze aus den Archiven der ÖNB Labs auf eine künstlerische Art und Weise erforscht werden, so dass dies Bedeutung hat in einem Moment zeitgenössischer Unruhe?

Open Digital Libraries

Mit diesen provokativen Fragen luden die ÖNB Labs zur kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit und kreativen Verarbeitung von ihren digitalen Datensets ein. Unter den Datensets werden unter anderem Kollektionen von historischen Postkarten, Papyri, historischen Zeitungen, Flugbättern zur Wiener Revolution 1848, Musikhandschriften oder Dokumente in der Plansprache Esperanto angeboten, sowie Metadaten dazu. Die Entwicklung der Web-Residenz erfolgt im Rahmen des internationalen Projektes Open Digital Libraries, einem Kooperationsprojekt der Königlichen Bibliothek der Niederlande, der Estnischen Nationalbibliothek und der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, das vom Creative-Europe-Programm der Europäischen Union kofinanziert wird. Ziel dieses Projektes ist es gemeinsam digitale Bibliotheksbestände für kreative Nutzung zu öffnen und diese durch geeignete Formate zu befördern. Da auf Grund der geltenden Restriktionen in Folge der COVID 19 Pandemie kein physischer Austausch stattfinden konnte, wurde das Format einer Web-Residenz erprobt.Im Format einer Web-Residenz wurde für KünstlerInnen international ein Preis ausgeschrieben. Fragestellung, Methode und Auswahl blieb gänzlich den BewerberInnen überlassen. Die Anzahl der Bewerbungen und die Unterschiedlichkeit der eingereichten Konzepte zeigen das breite Spektrum an Zugängen zu den digitalisierten historischen Beständen auf. In Kooperation mit dem Künstler und Lehrenden Seth Weiner wurde das Projekt Cryptographics der Künstlerin Rosemary Lee prämiert. Wir freuen uns, ihre ausgezeichnete Arbeit nun präsentieren zu dürfen.

Cryptographics

Rosemary Lee setzt in ihrer Arbeit eine Auswahl aus der ÖNB Labs Kollektion historischer Postkarten in Bezug zum Phänomen der Cryptoart. Sie reduzierte dazu die digitalisierten Postkarten auf deren Formen durch die Extraktion von Bildkoordinaten und kombinierte diese als Abfolge statischer und dynamischer Objekte mit Textfragmenten zum Konzept der Cryptoart. Um mehr über das Kunstwerk aus der Sicht der Künstlerin zu erfahren, lesen Sie den Begleittext zum Kunstwerk im Artspace.

Artspace

Im Rahmen der Web-Residenz wurde der ONB Labs Artspace entwickelt, eine Online-Plattform für die Präsentation des im Zuge der Web-Residenz entstandenen Kunstwerks, welche auch darüber hinaus als virtueller Ausstellungsraum der ÖNB Labs fungieren soll. Konzeption und Entwicklung des Artspace erfolgte in engem Austausch mit der Künstlerin und dem Kurator der Web-Residenz. Es soll eine immersive Erfahrung der Kunstwerke möglich sein, den Werken möglichst viel Raum gegeben werden und die Aufmerksamkeit der BesucherInnen so wenig wie möglich durch Navigationselemente abgelenkt werden. Der Artspace ist daher rein durch einen schmalen Rahmen markiert und die Navigation wurde auf einen subtilen Punkt beschränkt. Punkt und Rahmen reagieren in ihrer Erscheinung auf wechselnde Inhalte.

Die flexible Fläche des Artspace wird sich für künftige Projekte immer wieder wandeln und weiterentwickelt werden. Sie soll als Raum für künstlerische Experimente mit digitalen Beständen der ÖNB Labs allen NutzerInnen offenstehen.

Mitmachen

Haben wir Sie neugierig gemacht? Möchten Sie ihre Arbeit mit Beständen der ÖNB Labs präsentieren? Kontaktieren Sie uns bitte: labs@onb.ac.at.

Die ÖNB Labs sind bestrebt, das Experimentieren mit digitalen Daten zu fördern und die Kollektionen für den kreativen Gebrauch zu öffnen. Weitere Beispiele für Projekte, die mit den Daten der ÖNB Labs umgesetzt wurden, sind unter labs.onb.ac.at zu finden. Die Web-Residenz ist Teil des internationalen Forschungsprojekts "Open Digital Libraries for Creative Use (ODL)" in Kooperation mit den Nationalbibliotheken der Niederlande und Estlands. ODL wird kofinanziert durch das Programm Kreatives Europa der Europäischen Union.

Logo Europäische Union

Logo Open Digital Libraries