Pasetti Digital

From April 29, 2021 until January 30, 2022 the Austrian National Library presents an exhibition about the river Danube, titled The Danube. A journey into the past, in the library's State Hall. The center piece of the exhibition is an installation showing the most prominent object – the so called Pasetti map (from the years 1862–1867) of the Austrian parts of the Danube – which was graphically prepared and can be marveled at on a stretch of 44 meters. The ONB Library Labs now proudly present a digital version of the Pasetti map. In this accompanying article we explain the advantages of the application and how it was made.

Pasetti Map ⮕
Link to Pasetti map
Fig. 1: Preview of the digital Pasetti map. By clicking on the image you will be forwarded to the map.

Contents:

  1. The Pasetti map – historical background and facts
  2. Digital Pasetti map at the ONB Labs
  3. Methods
  4. Appendix

1. The Pasetti map – historical background and facts

The map, known as Pasetti map, is a cartographical status report of the river Danube and the adjoining landscapes before the intervening riverbed regulations during the second half of the 19th century (cf. Zeilinger: 2021a and Zeilinger: 2021b about the history of the map). The map shows the course of the Danube from the German–Austrian border to the Iron Gate in a scale of 1:28,800 and is based on the Franciscan survey and records of the river from before 1830. Numerous details concerning the banks, currents, water depths and traffic routes can be found on the map. Its name derives from the hydrotechnician and ministry official Florian von Pasetti (1793–1875) who was head of many construction projects for shipping lanes and ports in the Austrian empire. He was denoted editor for the project of the map edition. However, recent research has shown that the initiative for the map came from Valentin von Streffleur (1808–1870), cf. Zeilinger: 2021b. Alexander Möring (1818–1893) was responsible for drawing and compilation while Anton Dolezal was responsible for the realization in lithography. The elaborate production was published between 1862 and 1867 in 6 shipments consisting of single pages (in 1862 already 4 shipments containing sheets 1–28 were released, the fifth appeared in 1864 and the sixth in 1867). Pasetti published in 1862 his accompanying Notes on the regulation of the Danube in the Austrian empire up to the end of the year 1861 referencing the overview map of the Danube released by the royal state ministry. The map was awarded a medal at the world exhibition both 1862 in London and again 1867 in Paris. The aim of the map was not so much to give a sound basis for regulation works but rather to "create public awareness about the significance of the Danube and its systematic regulation" (Zeilinger: 2021b).

The map has been produced in grayscale lithography. The sheets of the map were printed in such a way that they could be cut out and joined into a leporello (a folded leaflet). As the curators of the Danube exhibition state, "it is remarkable that with the help of gore segments the stream is depicted correctly in its north–south course" (Petschar/Zeilinger: 2021, 11). Consequently, with corresponding handling of the gores, the map extends not only horizontally but also vertically.

The map department at the Austrian National Library holds two copies of this map in grayscale lithography. One Copy (signature KAR FKB 281-7) consists of shipments I–V that were joined manually (i.e., the rectangular sections and gore segments have been cut out and joined together with glue). The other copy (KAR AB 356(9)) contains all sheets of shipments I–VI as single leaflets not further manipulated. In the same collection a copy of a previous version from 1857, once part of the imperial private library (fideicommissum library) can be found, which was manually colored and dedicated to the emperor Franz Joseph (signature KAR FKB 279-3). All copies have been digitized and can be accessed via ONB Digital (see KAR FKB 279-3, KAR FKB 281-7 and KAR AB 356(9)).

During the graphical editing process (the result of which can be seen in the exhibtion as well as the accompanying catalogue on pages 164–201) the parts from the variants were joined, cut and smoothed out, and enlarged by 20 percent for the print at the exhibit. If these segments were to be joined horizontally they would stretch over 36 meters (while the exhibit in the state hall stretches over 44 meters due to the enlargement). In the mere horizontal adjustment white spaces remained between the rectangular segments and the triangular gore segments. The total extent of the map can be surmised from the overview sheet (skeleton for the map of the Danube stream), see figure 2.

Overview page of the Pasetti map
Fig. 2: Overview page (so called skeleton) of the Pasetti map. Click on the image for higher resolution.

2. Digital Pasetti map at the ONB Labs

At the ONB Library Labs we have now digitally joined together the sheets of the map in the context of our experiments on image feature recognition. We assumed it would be possible through automatic recognition of characteristic image features to achieve better matching of segments than by manually stitching together the segment outlines. It was our goal to create a navigable representation of the Pasetti map in high resolution, topographically as accurate as possible, extending horizontally and vertically as seen on the overview page. "Navigable" for us means that the map can be rotated in the compass directions as well as zoomed in and out of. In the next section we give more details on the technical implementation of this application. Additionally, according to our guidelines, we disclose the data and tools used during the development process. This way, the Pasetti map is freely available for further work and extensions.

"The map of the Danube stream is still in use today – despite certain shortcomings concerning the precision and positional accuracy. It is consulted for questions about reconstructing the historical Danube or as part of ecological restoration and dismantling plans" (Zeilinger: 2021a, 159). It would therefore be desirable to have a georeferenced version of the map, which would definitely be a big effort, especially since the allocation of historical place and field names is not trivial. By presenting the digital Pasetti map, the Labs team wants to provide a basis for such an extension.

3. Methods

In this section we want to give insights into the methods and techniques used during the development of the digital Pasetti map. The code for stitching together the image files was written in Python, while the embedding of the viewer was written in JavaScript and HTML. We use the programming library OpenCV, which contains many algorithms for image editing. Furthermore, this choice complies with the Labs mission statement to use only open source software.

Recognizing and describing image features

We use algorithms that are already implemented in OpenCV for recognizing and describing image features. To illustrate what exactly "good" image features are take a look at the following schematic image:

Typical image features
Fig. 3: Schematic depiction of image features using a uniformly light blue colored rectangle.

The area inside the red rectangle is hard to find since by moving around the red rectangle inside the blue image its content does not change. The dark blue rectangle on the other hand lies at an edge and a shift up or down causes a change in its content. However, it can be moved left or right without change. Finally we look at the green rectangle in the upper right corner of the image. Any kind of movement will change its content and thus its position can be determined uniquely. On this image, consequently, the corners of the light blue rectangle are "good" image features. We refer to the documentation of OpenCV on feature detection and description for more details.

In the following figure we have marked image features of two consecutive scanned images of the Pasetti map. Based on the descriptors for each feature we have connected the most probable matches with lines. Looking at the lines on the lettering "Wien", it is apparent how important corners and areas of high contrast are for image feature recognition.

Identified image features
Fig. 4: Cutout of two consecutive scans of the map around Vienna together with identified image features. Click on the image for higher resolution.

Comparison of algorithms

Many algorithms for image feature recognition and description are implemented in OpenCV, with varying degrees of success for our use case: Some images with overlap were not recognized as matches or even wrongly matched with other images, as well as correct matching of the overall image but incorrect matching with respect to the coordinates, up to the desired correct match of images together with exact coordinates. Therefore, we have compared five of those algorithms (AKAZE, BRISK, KAZE, ORB, SIFT) based on the confidence score that they return. See the following graph for an overview:

Comparison of confidence scores
Fig. 5: Average confidence score of implemented algorithms plotted against the input parameter, which is the threshold on the nearest neighbour distance ratio (between 0 and 1). The scale of the confidence score is arbitrary and therefore the various algorithms cannot be compared directly based on that.

Our decision was made in favor of SIFT (scale-invariant feature transform) as it not only had a good average confidence score but it also (in contrary to ORB) identified all those images as matches which had overlap.

Determination of coordinates

From the so called homography matrix (which is returned by the algorithm) we extracted the angle, scale and shift (in x and y direction) of two images relative to each other. This was then converted to absolute coordinates relative to a fixed point (in our case the first image). Here is an excerpt of the JSON file that contains all coordinates:

0: {'src_name': '10.jpg', 'src_shape': [4578, 3150], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': -0.08323251825809101, 'scale': 0.9987168967645754, 'x': 3624.6878848288798, 'y': -1.3621290527400665}
1: {'src_name': '11.jpg', 'src_shape': [4542, 3791], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': -0.47064110395516434, 'scale': 0.99932858086887, 'x': 7260.183542012214, 'y': 7.561213364046086}
2: {'src_name': '12.jpg', 'src_shape': [4422, 3780], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': -0.3934912301887074, 'scale': 0.999136761213508, 'x': 11020.240986670498, 'y': 46.98343930721032}
3: {'src_name': '13.jpg', 'src_shape': [4619, 3515], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': -0.434097036012544, 'scale': 0.9986708756016456, 'x': 14872.032249592248, 'y': -281.46732838637723}
4: {'src_name': '14.jpg', 'src_shape': [5896, 4119], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': 18.600059627212573, 'scale': 1.0020764862820368, 'x': 17516.73162454565, 'y': -512.0283243361719}

However, these coordinates could not be automatically generated for all images. Some parts of the map (for example in the third shipment that contains a very large area around the river banks) were first glued together and afterwards – presumably for easier storage – cut apart again. The scanned images of those parts show no overlap and we have therefore generated the connections between those components by eye. For the sixth shipment this had to be done for every sheet since it is only available as single sheets. Furthermore, we manually produced binary masks for all images such that the final panoramic map contains fewer artefacts and is less blurry. We present the example of sheet 38a from the sixth shipment where three separate gore segments were cut out from the same page:

Sheet 38a of the Pasetti map Binary mask for the first partBinary mask for the second partBinary mask for the third part
Fig. 6: Sheet 38a from the sixth shipment is only available as a single printed page and we cut out the three gore segments using manually created binary masks.

Division into tiles

Because of the enormous size of the complete panoramic image it would make little sense to save (and view) it as a single image. As can be seen on the overview sheet (see above in Section 1) this way a lot of empty space would be created in a rectangular final image. Additionally, for the desired deployment as a web application it would be beneficial if the image could be subdivided into smaller parts. The solution we implemented is to cut out tiles from the envisioned large panoramic image and only save them if the tile is not completely black (that is, empty). After experimenting with the number (respectively the size) of the tiles we have found 3000 ⨯ 3000 pixels to be a good value. See the following figure of the map around Vienna for an example of three consecutive tiles:

Tile 1Tile 2Tile 3
Fig. 7: Three horizontally consecutive tiles that were cut out from the stitched panorama.

Displaying the map with OpenSeadragon Viewer

For displaying the tiles we created we have found the OpenSeadragon Viewer to be very suitable. It is used to present high-resolution zoomable images in web applications. Since the viewer supports IIIF standards it fits in well with the availabe infrastructure at the Austrian National Library: The tiles are provided by a IIIF image server. We have extended the user interface of the viewer by two elements, first an info button that toggles a separate info panel and second a compass widget which can be used to rotate the map. See the following figure for a detailed view of those elements.

Control buttonsCompass widget
Fig. 8: Two cutouts of the user interface of the viewer: On the left buttons that can be used to zoom in or out, return to the starting position, toggle full screen and toggle info panel, and on the right the compass widget.

4. Appendix

Tools/data

NameDescriptionLink

OpenCV

Programming library with algorithms for image editing and computer vision

OpenCV homepage

GIMP – GNU Image Manipulation Program

Raster graphics editor used for image editing and manipulation

GIMP homepage

OpenSeadragon Viewer

Web-based viewer for high-resolution zoomable images

OpenSeadragon Viewer homepage

IIIF manifests of the scanned images

Contains metadata and direct links to the image data

Link to shipments I–V

Link to shipment VI

Coordinates in JSON file format

Contains the data that was used to place the scans relative to each other

Link to complete_data.json

Contribute

For the curious reader the complete code basis is available in the repository for this project on our public GitLab. We are very happy when our users contribute to our projects.

A fact that is particularly interesting about this project is the existence of a partially colored variant of the map (which was published five years prior and does not extend as far, see the discussion in Section 1 and here for the IIIF manifest of the colored copy). To be able to present this version of the map in the same way as the grayscale version we are looking forward to contributions and help from the labs community!

Another interesting aspect would be to obtain a georeferenced version of the Pasetti map (with respect to a modern map) to make visible the changes in the riverbed since then.

DiTAH

This project was supported by the project "Digital Transformation of the Austrian Humanities".

References

  1. Hans Petschar and Elisabeth Zeilinger: Einleitung. In: Die Donau. Eine Reise in die Vergangenheit. Eds. Hans Petschar, Elisabeth Zeilinger. Vienna 2021, pages 8–11.
  2. Elisabeth Zeilinger: Die "Pasetti-Karte": Der Lauf der Donau von Passau bis zum Eisernen Tor. In: Die Donau. Eine Reise in die Vergangenheit. Eds. Hans Petschar, Elisabeth Zeilinger. Vienna 2021, pages 148–161.
  3. Elisabeth Zeilinger: Zur Urheberschaft der Pasetti-Karte. In: Research blog of the Austrian National Library, August 27, 2021, https://www.onb.ac.at/forschung/forschungsblog/artikel/zur-urheberschaft-der-pasetti-karte/.

Pasetti Digital

Vom 29. April 2021 bis 30. Jänner 2022 zeigt die Österreichische Nationalbibliothek im Prunksaal eine Ausstellung zum Donaufluss unter dem Titel Die Donau. Eine Reise in die Vergangenheit. Im Zentrum der Ausstellung steht eine Installation, auf welcher das prominenteste Objekt – die sogenannte Pasetti-Karte der österreichischen Abschnitte des Donaustromes von 1862–1867 – auf 44 Metern Länge grafisch aufbereitet zu bestaunen ist. Über die ÖNB Library Labs steht nun eine digital navigierbare Pasetti-Karte zur Verfügung. In diesem begleitenden Beitrag erklären wir den Mehrwert der Anwendung und wie diese erstellt wurde.

Pasetti-Karte ⮕
Link zur Pasetti-Karte
Abb. 1: Vorschau auf den Viewer der Pasetti-Karte. Durch Klick auf das Bild gelangen Sie direkt zur Karte.

Inhaltsverzeichnis:

  1. Die Pasetti-Karte – Geschichte und Objekt
  2. Digitale Pasetti-Karte der ÖNB Labs
  3. Methoden
  4. Anhang

1. Die Pasetti-Karte – Geschichte und Objekt

Die unter der Bezeichnung Pasetti-Karte bekannte Donau-Karte ist eine kartografische "Bestandsaufnahme" des Donauflusses samt Uferlandschaft vor den eingreifenden Donauregulierungen der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts (zur Geschichte der Karte vgl. Zeilinger: 2021a und Zeilinger: 2021b). Die Karte zeigt den Fluss der Donau von der deutsch-österreichischen Grenze bis zum Eisernen Tor in einem Maßstab von 1:28.800 basierend auf der Franziszeischen Landesaufnahme und Stromaufnahmen der Zeit vor 1830. Zahlreiche Details zu den Ufern, Strömungen, Tiefen und Verkehrswegen sind aus der Karte ablesbar. Benannt ist sie nach dem Hydrotechniker und Ministerialbeamten Florian von Pasetti (1793–1875), der zahlreiche Bauprojekte für Schiffswege und Häfen im Österreichischen Kaiserreich leitete und für das Projekt der Karten-Edition als Herausgeber zeichnete. Die Initiative zur Karte ging jedoch von Valentin von Streffleur (1808–1870) aus (vgl. Zeilinger 2021b). Alexander Möring (1818–1893) war verantwortlich für Zusammenstellung und Zeichnung, Anton Dolezal für die Umsetzung als Lithografie. Die aufwändige Produktion erfolgte zwischen 1862 und 1867 in 6 Lieferungen aus einzelnen Blättern (1862 lagen bereits vier Lieferungen mit den Blättern 1–28 vor, 1864 (1862 lagen bereits vier Lieferungen mit den Blättern 1–28 vor, 1864 erschien die fünfte Lieferung, 1867 die sechste). Begleitend erschienen 1862 Pasettis Notizen über die Donauregulierung im Österreichischen Kaiserstaate bis zu Ende des Jahres 1861 mit Bezug auf die im K.K.Staatsministerium herausgegebenen Übersichts-Karte der Donau. Die Karte wurde 1862 bei der Londoner und 1867 bei der Pariser Weltausstellung ausgezeichnet. Zweck der Karte war weniger eine fundierte Basis für Regulierungsarbeiten zu geben, sondern "ein öffentliches Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung der Donau und ihre systematische Regulierung zu schaffen" (Zeilinger: 2021b).

Die Karte wurde in Lithografie in Graustufen produziert. Die Blätter der Karte wurden so bedruckt, dass sie beschnitten und zu einem Leporello zusammengefügt werden konnten. "Bemerkenswert ist," – wie die Kuratoren der Donau-Ausstellung vermerken –, "dass mit Hilfe von Zwickelsegmenten der Strom auch korrekt in seinem Nord-Süd-Verlauf abgebildet wird" (Petschar/Zeilinger: 2021, 11). Bei entsprechender Verarbeitung der Zwickel erhält die Karte somit nicht nur eine horizontale, sondern auch eine vertikale Ausdehnung.

Die Kartensammlung der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek verwahrt zwei Exemplare dieser lithografischen Karte. Ein Exemplar (Signatur KAR FKB 281-7) mit Blättern der Lieferung I–V, welches zu einem Leporello zusammengefügt wurde. Ein zweites Exemplar (Signatur KAR AB 356(9)) umfasst sämtliche Lieferungen in unbearbeiteten Einzelblättern.

Zudem ist in derselben Sammlung ein Exemplar einer früheren Variante überliefert, welche 1857 unter dem Titel Schifffahrts-Karte der Donau im Bereich des Österreichischen Kaiserstaates in 16 Sektionen (von Passau bis Samorin) erschien. Das Exemplar wurde händisch koloriert und dem Kaiser gewidmet (Signatur KAR FKB 279-3). Es war einst Teil der kaiserlichen Privatsammlung (Fideikommissbibliothek). Sämtliche Exemplare wurden digitalisiert und können über ÖNB Digital eingesehen werden (Exemplar KAR FKB 279-3, Exemplar KAR FKB 281-7 und Exemplar KAR AB 356(9)). Aus letztem Exemplar wurde jedoch nur die VI. Lieferung digitalisiert, welche in der virtuellen Karte Pasetti Digital mit den fünf Lieferungen des ersten Exemplars in Graustufen zusammengeführt wurde.

In der grafischen Bearbeitung, wie sie in der Ausstellung installiert wurde und im begleitenden Katalog (Seite 164–201) zu sehen ist, wurden die Teile aus den Varianten zusammengefügt, beschnittet, geglättet, und für die Installation um 20 Prozent vergrößert. Werden die Segmente horizontal ausgerichtet gereiht ergibt sich eine Länge von 36 Metern (im Prunksaal durch die Vergrößerung 44 Meter). Durch die horizontale Anpassung bleibt zwischen den rechteckigen Segementen und den dreieckigen Zwickeln Weißraum. Die gesamte Ausdehnung lässt sich anhand des Übersichtsblattes (Skelett zur Donau-Strom-Karte) erahnen, siehe Abbildung 2.

Übersichtsblatt der Pasetti-Karte
Abb. 2: Übersichtsblatt (sog. Skelett) der Pasetti-Karte. Klicken Sie auf das Bild für eine höhere Auflösung.

2. Digitale Pasetti-Karte der ÖNB Labs

Eine digitale Zusammenführung der Kartenblätter erfolgte nun in den ÖNB Library Labs vor dem Hintergrund der Beschäftigung mit der Erkennung von Bildmerkmalen. Die Annahme war, über die automatisierte Erkennung von charakteristischen Bildmerkmalen eine bessere Überlappung der Segmente zu erreichen als über manuelles Stitching der Segment-Umrisse. Unsere Zielvorgabe war, eine navigierbare, topografisch möglichst akkurate Präsentation der Pasetti-Karte in hoher Auflösung in horizontaler und vertikaler Ausdehnung, wie am Übersichtsblatt vorgesehen, zu erstellen. Navigierbar heißt für uns, dass die Karte den Himmelsrichtungen entsprechend gedreht werden kann und sowohl in als auch aus der Karte gezoomed werden kann. Wie diese Anwendung technisch umgesetzt wurde, wird im nächsten Abschnitt genauer erläutert. Zudem legen wir gemäß unseren Leitlinien die Datengrundlage der Entwicklung und die dafür verwendeten Tools offen. Damit steht die Pasetti-Karte für weiterführende Verarbeitungen und Erweiterungen frei zur Verfügung.

"Die Karte des Donaustroms wird auch heute noch verwendet – trotz gewisser Mängel, was die Genauigkeit und Lagerichtigkeit betrifft. Sie wird für Fragestellungen zur Rekonstruktion der historischen Donau oder auch im Rahmen von ökologischen Restaurations- und Rückbaukonzepten konsultiert" (Zeilinger: 2021a, 159). Eine Georeferenzierung der Karte wäre dafür wünschenswert, bedeutet aber einen hohen Aufwand, der in vorliegender Applikation nicht berücksichtigt werden konnte, zumal die Zuweisung der historischen Orts- und Flurnamen der Karte nicht trivial ist. Das Labs-Team möchte mit der Präsentation der Pasetti-Karte digital Grundlage für diese oder andere Erweiterungen geben.

3. Methoden

In diesem Abschnitt möchten wir einen Einblick in die Methoden und Techniken geben, welche bei der Entwicklung der digitalen Pasetti-Karte verwendet wurden. Der Code für das Zusammenführen der Bilddaten wurde in Python geschrieben und die Einbindung des Viewers in JavaScript bzw. HTML. Wir verwenden die Programmbibliothek OpenCV, welche viele Algorithmen zur Bildbearbeitung beinhaltet und dem Leitbild der Labs entspricht, Open Source Software zu verwenden.

Erkennen und Beschreiben von Merkmalen

Wir verwenden bereits implementierte Algorithmen in OpenCV zur Erkennung und Beschreibung von Bildmerkmalen. Zur Veranschaulichung dafür, was "gute" Merkmale sind, siehe das folgende schematische Bild:

Typische Bildmerkmale
Abb. 3: Schematische Darstellung von Bildmerkmalen anhand eines uniform hellblau eingefärbten Rechtecks.

Das Gebiet im roten Rechteck mitten im Bild kann nur schwer gefunden werden, denn durch Verschieben des roten Rechtecks innerhalb des größeren hellblauen Bilds verändert sich sein Inhalt nicht. Das dunkelblaue Rechteck hingegen liegt an einer Kante und eine Verschiebung nach oben oder unten bewirkt eine Veränderung seines Inhalts. Allerdings kann es nach rechts oder links verschoben werden ohne Änderung. Schließlich betrachten wir das grüne Rechteck in der rechten oberen Ecke des Bilds. Jede Art von Verschiebung verändert seinen Inhalt und so kann seine Position eindeutig bestimmt werden. Auf diesem Bild sind also die Ecken des hellblauen Rechtecks "gute" Merkmale zur Beschreibung. Wir verweisen auf die Dokumentation von OpenCV zu Feature detection and description für mehr Details.

In der folgenden Abbildung haben wir Bildmerkmale aus zwei aufeinander folgenden Scans markiert. Anhand der erzeugten Deskriptoren zu jedem Merkmal wurden die wahrscheinlichsten Treffer mit Linien verbunden. Am Schriftzug "Wien" ist gut zu erkennen, wie wichtig Kanten und kontrastreiche Gegenden im Bild für die Merkmalserkennung sind.

Markierte Bildmerkmale
Abb. 4: Ausschnitt aus zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Scans der Karte um Wien mit identifizierten Bildmerkmalen. Klicken Sie auf das Bild für eine höhere Auflösung.

Vergleich der Algorithmen

In OpenCV ist eine große Zahl an Algorithmen zur Merkmalserkennung und -beschreibung implementiert, die qualitativ unterschiedliche Ergebnisse liefern für unseren Anwendungsfall: Es werden manche Bilder mit Überlapp nicht als zusammengehörig erkannt oder gar fälschlich zugeordnet, sowie bei richtiger Zuordnung der Bilder falsche Koordinaten ermittelt, bis hin zur gewünschten richtigen Zuordnung und exakten Koordinaten. Daher haben wir fünf der Algorithmen (AKAZE, BRISK, KAZE, ORB, SIFT) untereinander verglichen anhand des Konfidenz-Werts, der ausgegeben wird. Siehe den nachfolgenden Graphen für eine Übersicht:

Graph zum Vergleich der Algorithmen
Abb. 5: Gemittelte Konfidenz-Werte von in OpenCV implementierten Algorithmen (AKAZE, BRISK, KAZE, ORB, SIFT) aufgetragen gegen den Input-Parameter, welcher die Schranke für das Verhältnis zwischen den Distanzen nächster Nachbarn ist (nearest neighbour distance ratio, zwischen 0 und 1). Die Skala des Konfidenz-Werts ist willkürlich, die verschiedenen Algorithmen sind daher nicht direkt vergleichbar mit diesem Wert.

Die Entscheidung fiel zugunsten SIFT (scale-invariant feature transform), dieser hat nicht nur einen guten mittleren Konfidenz-Wert, sondern es werden auch (im Gegensatz zu ORB) alle diejenigen Bilder korrekt als zusammengehörig identifiziert, welche auch Überlapp haben.

Koordinaten-Bestimmung

Aus der sogenannten Homographie-Matrix, die vom Algorithmus geliefert wird, extrahieren wir Winkel, Skala und Verschiebung (in x- und y-Richtung) zweier Bilder relativ zueinander. Dies rechnen wir dann um, so dass alle Koordinaten relativ zu einem Fixpunkt (in unserem Fall das erste Bild) angegeben werden. Hier ein Auszug aus der JSON-Datei, welche alle Koordinaten enthält:

0: {'src_name': '10.jpg', 'src_shape': [4578, 3150], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': -0.08323251825809101, 'scale': 0.9987168967645754, 'x': 3624.6878848288798, 'y': -1.3621290527400665}
1: {'src_name': '11.jpg', 'src_shape': [4542, 3791], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': -0.47064110395516434, 'scale': 0.99932858086887, 'x': 7260.183542012214, 'y': 7.561213364046086}
2: {'src_name': '12.jpg', 'src_shape': [4422, 3780], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': -0.3934912301887074, 'scale': 0.999136761213508, 'x': 11020.240986670498, 'y': 46.98343930721032}
3: {'src_name': '13.jpg', 'src_shape': [4619, 3515], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': -0.434097036012544, 'scale': 0.9986708756016456, 'x': 14872.032249592248, 'y': -281.46732838637723}
4: {'src_name': '14.jpg', 'src_shape': [5896, 4119], 'dst_name': '9.jpg', 'dst_shape': [4224, 3136], 'angle': 18.600059627212573, 'scale': 1.0020764862820368, 'x': 17516.73162454565, 'y': -512.0283243361719}

Diese Koordinaten konnten allerdings nicht für alle Bilder automatisiert erzeugt werden. Einige Abschnitte der Karte (im Bereich der großflächigen III. Lieferung) wurden zunächst zusammengeklebt und dann danach – wohl zur besseren Lagerung – wieder auseinandergeschnitten. Die Scans dieser Bereiche zeigen keinen Überlapp zwischen den Bildern und wir haben daher die Verbindungen zwischen diesen Komponenten manuell nach Augenmaß erzeugt. Für die VI. Lieferung musste dies für jedes Bild gemacht werden, da diese nur in Einzelblättern vorliegt. Weiterhin wurden für alle Bilder binäre Masken manuell erstellt, damit geringere Unschärfen und weniger Artefakte im finalen Panoramabild zu sehen sind. Wir präsentieren ein Beispiel von Blatt 38a aus der VI. Lieferung, bei dem drei einzelne Teile ausgeschnitten wurden:

Blatt 38a der Pasetti-Karte Binäre Maske für den ersten TeilBinäre Maske für den zweiten TeilBinäre Maske für den dritten Teil
Abb. 6: Das Blatt 38a aus der VI. Lieferung liegt nur als Druckbogen vor und die drei Teilstücke wurden daher von uns mittels (manuell erstellter) binärer Masken ausgeschnitten.

Zerlegen in Kacheln

Aufgrund der enormen Größe des Panoramabilds wäre es wenig sinnvoll dieses als einzelnes Bild abzuspeichern und anzuzeigen. Wie man auf dem Übersichtsblatt (siehe oben in Abschnitt 1) sehen kann würde so auch sehr viel leerer Raum entstehen in einem gedachten rechteckigen Gesamtbild. Auch für den gewünschten Einsatz in einer Webanwendung wäre es wünschenswert, wenn das Bild unterteilt werden könnte in kleinere Teile. Die hier umgesetzte Lösung ist, aus dem gedachten großen Panoramabild Kacheln auszuschneiden und diese nur abzuspeichern, falls die Kachel nicht komplett schwarz ist. Nach Herumprobieren mit der Anzahl (beziehungsweise der Größe) der Kacheln hat sich 3000 ⨯ 3000 Pixel als ein guter Wert herausgestellt. Siehe den folgenden Ausschnitt aus der Karte um Wien für ein Beispiel von drei aufeinander folgenden Kacheln:

Kachel 1Kachel 2Kachel 3
Abb. 7: Drei horizontal aufeinander folgende Kacheln, die aus dem zusammengesetzten Panorama ausgeschnitten wurden.

Anzeige mit dem OpenSeadragon Viewer

Zur Anzeige der erzeugten Kacheln ist der OpenSeadragon Viewer sehr gut geeignet. Er wird verwendet, um hochaufgelöste Bilder in einer Web-Anwendung zu präsentieren. Durch seine Unterstützung der IIIF-Standards passt er sehr gut zur vorhandenen Infrastruktur an der ÖNB, denn die Kacheln werden von einem IIIF-Server bereitgestellt. Wir haben die Benutzeroberfläche des Viewers um zwei Elemente erweitert, zum einen um einen Info-Button und zum anderen um ein Kompass-Widget, mit dem die Karte gedreht werden kann. Siehe die nachfolgende Abbildung für Ausschnitte aus der Benutzeroberfläche.

BedienknöpfeKompass-Widget
Abb. 8: Zwei Ausschnitte aus der Benutzeroberfläche des Viewers: Links die Leiste mit Knöpfen zum Rein-/Rauszoomen, Zurückkehren zur Startposition, Vollbildschirm und Info-Panel, und rechts das Kompass-Widget.

4. Anhang

Tools/Daten

NameBeschreibungLink

OpenCV

Programmbibliothek mit Algorithmen für die Bildverarbeitung und Computer Vision

OpenCV Homepage

GIMP – GNU Image Manipulation Program

Pixelbasiertes Grafikprogramm mit Funktionen zur Bildbearbeitung und zum digitalen Malen von Rastergrafiken

GIMP Homepage

OpenSeadragon Viewer

Web-basierter Viewer für hochauflösende zoombare Bilder

OpenSeadragon Viewer Homepage

IIIF Manifeste der gescannten Bilder

Enthält Metadaten und Direktlinks zu den Bilddaten

Link zu den Lieferungen I–V

Link zur Lieferung VI

Koordinaten im JSON Format

Enthält die Daten, welche verwendet wurden um die einzelnen Scans relativ zueinander zu platzieren

Link zu complete_data.json

Mitmachen

Für besonders Neugierige ist der komplette Code im Repository zum Projekt auf unserem öffentlichen GitLab verfügbar. Wir freuen uns, wenn unsere BenutzerInnen zu den Projekten beitragen.

Speziell interessant bei diesem Projekt ist, dass auch eine manuell kolorierte Donau-Karte existiert (welche fünf Jahre zuvor veröffentlicht wurde und sich nicht so weit erstreckt, siehe die Diskussion im Abschnitt 1 und hier für das IIIF-Manifest dazu). Um diese Version der Karte ebenso präsentieren zu können wie die Schwarz-Weiß-Ausgabe freuen wir uns über Beiträge und Hilfe aus der Labs-Community!

Ein weiterer interessanter Aspekt wäre eine Geo-Referenzierung der Pasetti-Karte mit einer aktuellen Karte, um die Veränderungen am Flussbett sichtbar zu machen.

DiTAH

Dieses Projekt wurde unterstützt durch das Projekt "Digitale Transformation der österreichischen Geisteswissenschaften".

Literatur

  1. Hans Petschar und Elisabeth Zeilinger: Einleitung. In: Die Donau. Eine Reise in die Vergangenheit. Hg. Hans Petschar, Elisabeth Zeilinger. Wien 2021, Seite 8–11.
  2. Elisabeth Zeilinger: Die "Pasetti-Karte": Der Lauf der Donau von Passau bis zum Eisernen Tor. In: Die Donau. Eine Reise in die Vergangenheit. Hg. Hans Petschar, Elisabeth Zeilinger. Wien 2021, Seite 148–161.
  3. Elisabeth Zeilinger: Zur Urheberschaft der Pasetti-Karte. In: Forschungsblog der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek vom 27.08.2021, https://www.onb.ac.at/forschung/forschungsblog/artikel/zur-urheberschaft-der-pasetti-karte/.